Progress Report #1

Though only one month into the new year, I thought it would be a good idea to post where I am with my 2014 goals. Makes me feel like I have to be accountable for what I’m doing.

1. Finish 18 new stories.

Progress report: Completed 1 new short story in January. Also had to abandon 2 stories that just were not working. I also began Holly Lisle’s Flash Fiction course, in part because I’ve noticed that far too many of my stories are running long lately. Hopefully, by doing more flash, I’ll be able to keep up with this goal.

2. 100 short story submissions.

Progress report: I logged 7 submissions during January. If I keep up that pace, I’ll have just 84 at the end of the year. Need to pick up the pace.

3. Keep up with this blog and Twitter

Didn’t post at all in January, after the Resolutions were made. Need to work on that. Twitter has been a bit easier. Maybe a little too easy. Hours waste away while I read through my feed, even when I’m not actively posting.

Overall, I think it was a decent month. Should be interesting to see what February brings, since it’s such a short month.

How about you? How are you doing on your goals for this year?

Leave a Reply

